top of page

My Last Week

I’m sorry for not posting a blog last week. I was pretty busy. Ewart introduced me to a couple of people who I had a Skype call with last week. With that and my work for JUMP and working to organise the presentations I’m going to have to give in York, I’ve been almost rushed off my feet.

I had a conversation with Annie who organises the social media content for JUMP last week and early this week. It was really helpful talking to her. It really gave me an insight into how a social enterprise gets its name out there. Unlike private sector companies which most likely have an advertising budget, a social enterprise connects with customers over Facebook and Twitter. Annie told me about how she chooses what content to post on what social media site and how often to make posts. For instance, she was saying that often she posts the same thing several times a day to reach people in different time zones.

I also spoke to Scott McMeekin, JUMP’s CEO, last week. He told me about more of the business side of things in a social enterprise. He mentioned the importance of having well qualified staff who know what they’re doing.

My presentations are going well. I’ve written up my poster and am quite happy with it. I think it looks really professional. My working group presentation hasn’t been written yet but we’ve got some really good ideas.

I am going to miss doing work for JUMP. It’s taught me so much about childhood math literacy and why it is so important for people to learn maths. It’s a topic that I was surprised to find so interesting. As someone who was bored silly by maths at school, I found it more interesting than I thought I would. Ewart has kindly said that he is willing to has an ongoing mentorship programme with me for as long as I feel it is helpful. I don’t know how long this will go on for but I’m looking forward to starting a more informal relationship.

I can’t wait to meet everyone in York. I think it’ll be loads of fun and the conference looks like it’ll be great too.


Who Are We?

We are the first cohort of the Students for Social Impact program!

Other Posts

More BI on the web

Follow Me

  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • YouTube Basic Black

Search By Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page