top of page

Internet... Internet... Are You There?

The one thing about having a virtual internship is that you rely so heavily on the internet. My boss sends me work over the internet, I have to search for research papers over the internet, and I need to send completed work to my boss over the internet. When the internet doesn’t work, I can’t do any work, simple as.

When I first learned that I would be completing work by a virtual internship it never eve crossed my mind what I would do if I lost internet access.

Wifi is something we all take for granted now and we all assume will just be there. If your anything like me, when the internet goes down your at a loss for what to do. You can’t go on Facebook and talk to friends or even check your emails and forget about anything else you wanted to online cos that’s not going to happen.

Ewart introduced my to a colleague earlier this week who’s meant to Skype me later today. I hope the internet starts working for that!

I’m feeling pretty guilty that I’ve not done a lot of work this week but it’s been really hard to even get an hours window where I can work. If I could access the internet it would be a different story but as it stands I had read and written up about 120 pieces of numeracy research last week and this week I’ve only got 130. That only 10 pieces of research I’ve been able to cover in a week when usually I could do that a day.

The only thing I can imagine that might have affected our wifi is the storm we had last week. It was a really nice day in the morning: Sunny for once in Scotland (Yes, I know, shock horror) blue skies, but then in the afternoon it poured and we had a full-blown storm. Thunder and lightening. Very, very frightening.

On the whole, we’ve had a rubbish summer. The Canadian Maple tree in our garden has already started to turn it’s been so cold.


Who Are We?

We are the first cohort of the Students for Social Impact program!

Other Posts

More BI on the web

Follow Me

  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • YouTube Basic Black

Search By Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page