top of page

Farewell Lisgar St., Hello Montreal

It’s been a very busy week!

At StartUp Canada it was our last week in our offices on Lisgar Street. It’s such an exciting time to be in the company as they are about to move offices! But in the very focussed StartUp Canada, moving offices definitely does not mean there is time to slack! I have continued to write up the report but it’s been difficult. I got to the point where I had written up all of the interviews but I had no idea what to do with it. I have so much information that even with my plan I was daunted! Luckily, Robert my mentor came to the rescue and bizarrely, by added a few pictures and headings it actually looks like a report! With more of a structure in place my brain could once again function and I was back on the task of writing the report.

This week was also the hottest so far and on the 29th of July it was the hottest on record in Ottawa for that date. It got to 34 degrees, but with the humidity it felt much warmer. A bit too warm for this brit! On the bright side I actually have a tan, not much but I am no longer ghost white! It was a bank holiday weekend so Rumina came up from Waterloo to see the capital and then we went up to Montreal! I don’t think I have ever done so much in such as short space of time! It was such a fantastic weekend and laughter definitely got us through some situations! From a zip wire where Rumina decided on the 3.2.1 count down that she didn’t want to

do it (don’t worry, we made her) to getting absolutely no sleep in the hostel because one man had the worlds loudest snore. I have never heard anything like it and at one point we genuinely thought he was dying. He wasn’t. Still just snoring very loudly. After that horrendous night we decided we needed a good afternoon tea. What else comforts brits more! It was so nice to see a familiar face and chat with someone else going through this whirlwind experience. This exchange is one of a kind and I am so grateful to be on it. The things I’m learning, the memories I’m creating and the way my eyes are opening to the world is so special and something that will truly stay with me for the rest of my life.

Who Are We?

We are the first cohort of the Students for Social Impact program!

Other Posts

More BI on the web

Follow Me

  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • YouTube Basic Black

Search By Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page