top of page

VOICES Magazine

I’ve been asked by the British Council top write an article about maths education for their VOICES magazine. I have looked at this magazine online and it appears to be a place anyone involved in the British Council puts any information they have learned. I assume that as I am doing research for JUMP, they wanted me to collate some of this research and write something up about it.

Even though the article was only meant to be between 500 and 800 words long, it still took me a long time to write. Usually when I write essays in uni they are at least 1,500 words long and so I found it really hard to fit everything I wanted to say into so few words.

My title is: “Are children naturally good at math?” My overall answer was no. I discussed some research about early childhood development and research about the most effective ways of teaching math before concluding that even though children develop an understanding of simple maths concepts before they even go to school, the majority of children have the innate curiosity that makes them able to learn maths and enjoy it.

The guy, Christopher, from the British Council said my article was outstanding which made me fell really proud. I feel like I’ve contributed something really meaningful to this program and any way I can inform other people about the vision of JUMP is fantastic as I think that teaching children maths is really important. From all the research I’ve found that says good maths skills give you a better job and higher wages, I think I’d be kinda mad not to think its important.

Who Are We?

We are the first cohort of the Students for Social Impact program!

Other Posts

More BI on the web

Follow Me

  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • YouTube Basic Black

Search By Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page