top of page

Feeling Foreign

Nope, I do not mean because they say my name 'Kady' or because I am constantly lost trying to understand the bloody East-West, North-South logistics of a grid system. Nor because some of the roads seem to be longer than the whole of my town at home.

No, it is not the humans that are making me feel foreign. Although I am certainly foreign, who else has to lift a coin up to the cashier and say 'whats this?'

It is the animals. And the trees. And the mountains. And the lakes. And the streams.

It is the bears, the chipmunks, the mountain goats, the herons, the eagles, the woodpeckers, the squirrels, the racoons, the whales, the seals and the elks.

I have never felt quite so human. Never felt like such an imperialist.

Oh and lets not forget, Vancouver still belongs to the First Nations, it is still Squamish territory. Those people are at one with nature. And yet, somehow, we have build beautiful skyscrapers and invaded the natural space of the Earth.

Who Are We?

We are the first cohort of the Students for Social Impact program!

Other Posts

More BI on the web

Follow Me

  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • YouTube Basic Black

Search By Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page