top of page

Down to work


I’ve been working for JUMP for about 4 weeks now and still find it pretty hard to get into a routine. Obviously I’m working at home and so don’t have to get up and go into the office or anything but sometimes I think that would be easier. I find it difficult getting up at a certain time and focusing on work when I don’t really need to. I keep thinking “No one would know if I didn’t do work today”, but I would know and just feel disappointed in myself. It also doesn’t help that my brother’s on holiday from school at the moment and is almost constantly asking me to do things with him. I always find something to distract me and then feel guilty about not getting as much work as I hoped done that day.

I’ve set myself a target: If I work for at least 35 hours a week, I reward myself. My reward is usually the weekend off. On Saturday and Sunday I usually chill-out and do what I want to. This has made me realize that I really don’t think I’m destined for a full-time job as a researcher. Although the stuff is interesting and I’m learning a lot, I would prefer to be actually doing something relating more closely to my interests and going into work not knowing what I’m going to face that day.

Who Are We?

We are the first cohort of the Students for Social Impact program!

Other Posts

More BI on the web

Follow Me

  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • YouTube Basic Black

Search By Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page