top of page

* Vancity *

June 22nd

How lucky do I feel right now to be in Vanocuver? not only has it been recently ranked as the third most “livable place in the world” for its high standard of living and quality of life but it has the highest proportion of Asians of any North American city! giving Vancouver the finest selection of oriental restaurants!

We got picked up by our Landlady, a true kind Canadian who couldn’t face the worry of two young girls stranded in the middle of the night trying to navigate through the roaring city! My new home is pretty cool, a ground floor flat located by the beach, I feel safe.

Monday morning 8:00am - Ok so I spent 40 minutes being lost and being frustrated with myself for getting the area confused. I had accomplished the journey on foot the day before so that I knew exactly where I was going but maybe I should have been more organised!

I am finally here! I am welcomed in by a smiley lady and given a desk. Ok so I’m directed to a desk what happens now? I was asked to introduce myself, so I did and everyone got back to work. It was a strange atmosphere everyone was tapping away at their laptops, working on their own all day the whole day- busy.

During the first week I curiously wondered the area to see what was nearby. Stunning views at English Bay - sandy beach with a calm sea.

Yaletown ---> Apparently this is Vancouver's hippest area! It was filled with sidewalk cafes, trendy restaurants, a thriving nightlife scene and intimate boutique hotels.

Gastown ---> On the North end of Vancouver known as the birth place of the city. Gastown was full of historic charm and independent spirit, Victorian architecture, a thriving fashion scene, impeccable décor boutiques, one-of-a-kind galleries and amazing food! It’s a gathering place for stylish locals and an ideal neighbourhood to explore on foot. The free music festival was fabulous, the streets were full of energetic natives and travelers.

Dining in Downtown was my favourite part of my first week. Lunch breaks turned into an eatery crawl (if that’s even a word!) Tea in one place, lunch at another and dessert somewhere completely different! There is so much to choose from and who doesn’t love a bit of fusion. I am definitely in the right place!

Who Are We?

We are the first cohort of the Students for Social Impact program!

Other Posts

More BI on the web

Follow Me

  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • YouTube Basic Black

Search By Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page